RSS Feed

HSF Challenge 2# UFO – Victorian Crinoline

I think the next project I shall work on is a Victorian crinoline that I first whipped together for my girlfriend about 6 months ago.

Somehow I don't think those neon colours are correct for the period...

Somehow I don’t think those neon colours are correct for the period…

I created the above set literally an hour before we walked out the door hence why it looked like it did. I’ll be interested in doing a proper version of this using Simplicity 9764 as I’m considering making an absolutely massive set to go under a proposed ball gown using TV453 and I want to see if the boning I have will be strong enough.

https://i0.wp.com/img3.etsystatic.com/000/0/5648318/il_fullxfull.90070679.jpg

I started cutting out the fabric but I used quite a multitude of colours (well just a buttercup yellow and white) since I thought no one would ever see it. However now that it will be up on the blog and part of the HSF I suppose I shall have to make it up properly. *Sigh* I am already dreading sewing in the bone channels. Whenever I’m working with crinolines I always wish sewing machines had the equivalent of cruise control!

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

5 responses »

  1. That pattern looks good for crinolines. The closest thing I have ever made is 18th century paniers (in the form of a petticoat). Looking forward to seeing how it turns out!

    Reply
    • I saw your paniers! They are lovely! If you want to make a new set then the Dreamstress currently has a paniers-along. I want to get round to making an 18th century outfit, but I’m trying to finish all my current projects before launching into a new era!

      Reply
    • (it wouldn’t allow me to reply to your reply) I downloaded the sense and sensibility chemise and stays patten as I was too wimpy to draft my own an I hope to start that tomorrow 🙂 I hope it will compare yours!

      Reply
      • I am sure it will! To be honest, I was constantly emailing my sister (who had used that same pattern) to check what she had done for hers, just to make sure mine was “right”! Hope it goes well.

Leave a Reply

