RSS Feed

Edwardian Corset is Done

My first Historical Fortnightly Challenge is done! I’m so proud! It may be a bit late but it still meets the deadline which is one of the good things about also being in the NZ time zone.

2013-01-14 21.54.58 2013-01-14 21.53.08 2013-01-14 21.53.02 2013-01-14 21.52.53

I shortened the bones in the front and didn’t add the hooks and eyes as they would just rip as soon as I sit down. I added some trim but a word to the wise, pay attention when sewing. I sewed the trim on each side (quite difficult for me as I always find pinning tedious) only to realise I sewn them on opposite sides!

Photo on 2013-01-14 at 19.28

Ooops!

Thank you Dreamstress for running this. Without this challenge this corset would have take months! I just wish I had a better camera so could snap a few better shots. Its a good start to my sewing year šŸ™‚ And because a corset will only temporarily reduce my waist line, I also went for my first run of the year this evening! Hence the reason for the late posting…

I think 2013 is looking pretty good. How did everyone else’s first challenge go?

Edit – adding the Facts, Ma’am!

The Challenge: An Edwardian corset that could have been worn in 1913.

Fabric: Don’t judge but its made out of bed sheets that were thrifted. It was a nice tight weave so perfect for a corset.

Pattern:Ā Festive Ayttre’s 1910 corset pattern

Year:Ā 1910

Notions: Black bias tape, 40 ish eyelets, black lace trim and cord.

How historically accurate is it? Very. Festive Ayttre’s pattern is based upon a 1910s corset she purchased.

Hours to complete: Hard to say (I’ll keep better track next time) but about 6-8 hours

First worn:Ā  Around my apartment šŸ˜›

Total cost: Everything was from my stash so no outlay. Yay! I’m very cheap so this makes me quite happy.

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

2 responses »

  1. I like these! I have the material to make myself an Edwardian gown, but first I need to attempt the corset. It is on my long list of costuming things to do! Hopefully the HSF will help me get some of them done this year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

