RSS Feed

More progress aaaaand then a snag

I pretty much finished the corset today. All I need to do is add a few hooks and eyes and finish the top and bottom with twill tape so I’m in good shape for the HSF deadline of Monday.

Photo on 2013-01-10 at 20.01 #2 Photo on 2013-01-10 at 20.01 #4 Photo on 2013-01-10 at 20.02

I feel pretty happy with this piece and since I’m a girl with my fair share of love handles I do really enjoy the shape it gives. In preparing the boning for this corset, I manage to stab myself with a particularly sharp edge and ended up with blood all over me, Miraculously none of it got on my clean white corset ๐Ÿ™‚ Look away now if you’re squeamish!

Ouch!

Ouch!

But here’s the snag. I can’t sit down in it! The first time I tried I got half way down and the first bone nearest the busk was pushed up by my big thighs and actually ripped a small hole! I’ve gone over the pattern and Festive Attyre’s beautiful example and it looks like that piece is meant to be that long but I don’t know how anyone manages it! Can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong?? The photo below shows pretty clearly the tension-ing that I found.

Photo on 2013-01-10 at 20.03

Also I know that I need to wear a chemise underneath this but still find that the support for ones breasts is a little…. lacking. I have seen a few examples of early brassieres like this lovely ‘Bosom Supporter’ circa 1900. I will do some more of my own research but just wondered if anyone could offer some helpful tips. Thanks!

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

2 responses »

  1. Talk about putting your heart and soul into something! Thank goodness it didn’t get on your corset. As to the snag, you might want to check out this blog: http://bridgesonthebody.blogspot.com/
    I know that she did a very similar 1910s corset and goes into a lot of detail. I can’t remember precisely but I think she might have addressed the sitting down issue.

    Reply
    • I remember following some of her sew along when I first thought about starting this project. Went back through it and couldn’t find any details so I just shortened the front bones and it solves the problem ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have you started on yours yet? What patten are you using?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

