RSS Feed

Op Shop Victorian

Posted on

My best friend Genny and I went to a Victorian evening and so she needed a dress, now Genny is only learning to sew and I didn’t feel like making something from scratch. So we pulled together this awesome find from an op shop (NZ slang for a charity or second hand store)

Which I’m pretty sure was only $10. And decided to compile it with this dress which I was given a long time ago by a dear family friend for playing dress up when I was younger. Clearly I never grew out of that stage…

And heres what it looks like with a crinoline on… Somehow she looks incredibly short in all of these pictures! The finished dress looked pretty awesome but as it was literally made from start to finish within 4 hours (including a whipped together crinoline and getting our toilette done), there are definitely a few things we will improve on!

Somehow I don’t think those neon colours are correct for the period…

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

Leave a Reply

