RSS Feed

Titanic Project

I watch a lot of Downton Abbey and all those dresses just have me constantly drooling! I’ve been wanting an excuse to make a teens dress and so, to commemorate the 100th anniversary of sinking of the Titanic, I will be hosting a period dinner. Theres only one catch, I have to make the costumes for some of my friends who are coming! I’ve got 3 to do and this is the first one. Its not actually sewn, just artfully pinned until I can fit it on my friend. But even just having done a little bit is quite exciting.

Its just pretending to be done... Trying to lull me into a false sense of security...

I’ve got some boning arriving soon so I will be making an Edwardian corset (thankfully not those awful S shaped one!). I will be using this pattern from Festive Attyre which comes highly recommended. Then I can start on my own dress! 😀 My best friend bought be a beautiful sari for my birthday so I will be using that for the overdress- it has such beautiful detailing!

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

One response »

  1. What a great idea, to have a Titanic party!! There is a place in Melbourne which recreates a Titanic dinner and everyone goes in costume, and I would love to go one day.

    I am also intrigued about the 1910’s corset too! Looks interesting!

    Make sure you post lots of photos! Looking forward to seeing the finished projects!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

