RSS Feed

Victorian Evening Dress Progress

So. Forever and a day ago I posted about creating a Victorian evening gown for a dinner I was attending. For a number of reasons (including a broken sewing machine and bad service) that never happened but I still wanted to complete it. As I’m on my own this weekend hopefully it will be completed. Here is my progress so far!

I used the skirt from a previous post which is a simple circle skirt that I just put into a makeshift bustle. The bodice is going to be more decorated later but right now I’m just focusing on construction!. I didn’t have boning to bone the bodice which I’m now realising is a bit of mistake as that point really should be a bit stiffer. However, I recently stole a cummerbund when I went home to visit my parents and I think adding it really looks quite nice…

Cummerbund version

What do people think? I have some boning being delivered in a few days so could just add some boning channels to the bodice or will the cummerbund suffice?

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

One response »

  1. I love the colour! It looks great, and I do like that front pointy bit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

