RSS Feed

Corset Making Part 2

It has taken me a while to move on to the second step given the difficulty of finding boning in New Zealand. Spiral steel boning is NOT commercially available here and was driving me up the wall. I am considering importing bulk and selling it, it is that hard and expensive to find.

I ended up paying $11 per meter and needed nearly 3m for my corset but it finally came last week. The tips were NZ$1.20 each and as I needed 20 of them, I decided to try something else.
My friend Gen whose father has a plastic factory

Filling down the edges

Heating up the metal

Can’t wait to see the finished corset! Summer school has been taking up time but I promise it won’t be as long till the next post!

 

 

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

3 responses »

  1. I have never used spiral steel boning!
    But I have the same problem of sourcing corset materials in Melbourne. I ended up having to order from Sydney and get it sent to me! Very frustrating! (Good business opportunity!)

    Reply
    • That’s what I’m thinking! It’s pretty cheap in America, the problem is really shipping because of the weight 😦 Even getting it from Aussie is cheaper than from here!

      Reply
      • I find shipping stuff from America is really expensive too!
        I have tended to use nylon boning, but it does warp/twist a bit, and I have heard that spiral steel boning doesn’t warp the same. I should try it sometime.
        Check out http://www.metrofabrics.com.au/. (in Sydney). They have a range of corsetry supplies, but they dont really have online ordering unless you email them and request prices.

Leave a Reply

