RSS Feed

It’s the Blitz!!!

On Friday night I pinned up my victory rolls and got my lindyhop shoes on because it was time for my 1940s ‘Blitz’ themed ball! I used the Sensibility Swing Dress pattern but made it floor length (something I didn’t end up liking because my seams showed up quite badly). However as long as you kept your eyes above my waist it was fine! The night was a LOT of fun; the venue, music and everyones costumes were amazing!

On the pattern side of things, the yoke was the most difficult part of the dress and I found online instructions (best that is out there) still confusing but I got there in the end!

Sergent Jon and I!

Not such great photos of the actually dress, I’ll have to wait for the photographer to put some up!

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

One response »

  1. The dress looks great! Would be cool to see some close-up pictures it. I am not sure I know exactly what a Swing Dress is! I love the little mink stole (?) though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

