RSS Feed

Upcoming Projects

I think this cute skirt is going to be my next non-costume project. It is so cute and I find this style of skirt to be flattering on just about anyone! (Lets hope I don’t regret my words once I actually make it!)

As my mother would say - "Figure Enhancing"

However I cannot get costumes out of my mind! I’ve got a “Blitz” theme ball coming up next week so I’ve set to work on this gorgeous pattern from Sensibility. I’m going to try and make it an evening dress so I’m thinking of making it floor length and in some sort of satin-y material. It really depends what my budget can afford when I get to the fabric store!

Small wail here which those of you in Auckland (or anywhere remote) might be able to relate to – why are there no cheap fabric stores in the city!!?? It means I have to borrow my boyfriends car or get a bus for ages. Grrr. Ok. Rant over.

And after that I’m considering doing an Edwardian dress to celebrate the upcoming Downton Abbey season 2 premier. I am VERY excited about this. Anyone who hasn’t watched the show before needs to seriously question their taste levels! I may even try my hand at some milinary as those big hats like the one in my Fair Lady have always got my heart to sing!

I want one!

And last but certainly not least I’m going to create a Victorian Dress. My friend is having a Victorian mystery dinner in December and we’re all dressing up. She is an amazing seamstress and is going to run a series of workshops to create everything from corset to hoops to dress to bonnet. I am itching to get started and am going to buy my pattern this weekend. I can’t decide between Simplicity patterns!

But with a whole lot less detailing on the sleeves

Or….

An evening gown

I wish I had readers as it may make my decision making a lot easier!

Will post photos as they come!

About aftermartha

I'm 21 years old and live in Auckland, New Zealand and I have a confession, I absolutely love costumes!

3 responses »

  1. Oooo do the evening dress! So glam! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ooh, they will look lovely! I agree with your indecision… sometimes it is so hard to pick where to start!

    One thing that I have done when I haven’t been able to afford material is visited second hand shops. I find curtains and bedspreads CAN be a great cheap source of good quality material that is often great for historical costumes. (Just try to avoid the curtains that are backed with blockout!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

